Important Updated Voting Information from the Archuleta County Clerk

The Archuleta County Clerk and Recorder’s Office has been notified that the United States Postal Service (USPS) sent out a pre-election mailer that contains misleading information for Colorado Voters. The mailer asks that voters request a mail ballot 15 days prior to the election and return their ballots by mail 7 days before the election. Colorado is a mail ballot state and ballots will automatically be mailed to every active registered voter in Archuleta County on October 9th.

IMPORTANT DATES TO KEEP IN MIND **October 9th –ballots will be mailed to ALL ACTIVE REGISTERED VOTERS in Archuleta County. **October 19th –VSPC (Voter Service & Polling Center) opens. Our hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday beginning October 19, 2020 (including November 2nd the day before the election). Saturdays October 24, 2020 and October 31, 2020 my office will be open from 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Election Day hours will be 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. **October     26 th– Although Colorado does not have a cutoff date for registering, this is the last day we can mail a ballot. Any newly registered or existing voter updating their registration will be required to come to the VSPC to pick up a ballot after this date. Your ballot must be in the Clerk’s Office on Election Day by 7:00 p.m. to be counted …. postmarks do not count!! **November 3rd -ELECTION DAY!! Motor Vehicle and Recording will be closed on Election Day. We will only offer voter services’

Archuleta County will have two 24-hour Drop Boxes. These are secure and have video surveillance. If voters are not comfortable mailing their ballots back to my office through the Post Office, I encourage you to utilize these drop off locations. We have one in front of the Courthouse by the old Sheriff’s Office doors (West end of the building). The second one is in Arboles at the Tara Community Center, 333 Milton Lane! Ballots can also be hand-delivered to the VSPC.

This is a rather lengthy ballot and may take some time to complete. Look for the “Blue Book” in the mail at the beginning of October. The TABOR Notice from my office will also be mailed October 2nd if you live within Aspen Springs Metropolitan District or Los Pinos Fire Protection District.

Please check your Voter Registration to ensure it is current! You can contact my office at 970-264-8350 or go online to If your record needs to be updated, please get this completed ASAP.

Each voter can track their ballot from start to finish with Ballot Trax. Information will be on your Voter Instructions (also the Secrecy Sleeve) included with your ballot. To opt in please go to and Register/Log in. You can choose to have your notices sent via text message or email. Registration for this tracking system is simple and user friendly!